Do not worry about tomorrow! (Part 1)

From my earliest memories I remember one thing clearly about myself- I worried a lot! I worried about writing exams, giving speeches, sleeping away from home, trying to fit in with my friends, performing well in sports matches, going to sleep at night and the list goes on. I have worried as an unbeliever and I continue to worry as a child of God. I have nurtured this sin and given it to much credit for far too long. I accept that it might be a lifelong journey of learning not to worry but I am thankful that I have a God who is more than able to help me. In fact God has much to teach us about worry.

I have read Matthew 6 many times and Jesus’ words have served as a tremendous comfort to me during my worst seasons of worry and anxiety. The problem is I need to constantly remind my self of what He said. This is a daily battle in which I need to counter my wrong thinking about life’s circumstances and accept the words of Christ as my standard for living. Jesus provides every believer 9 reasons, in the form of arguments, not to worry.

I found a study done by John Piper on Matthew 6 which I found to be very instructive and encouraging. In this study he shows that if the Bible is going to effectively speak to our anxious hearts, we need to learn how to read it well. He points out that from Matthew 6 we can learn 2 important things:

1.The Bible argues.

  • It gives reasons for things.
  • Its thoughts are linked together.

2. A unit of thought (or passage) has a main point.

  • Everything else in that unit supports in the main point in some way.

I have provided the text of Matthew 6:24-34 below as well as the outline of his message. Please follow the video link at the end. You will be very blessed by this teaching.

MATTHEW 6:24-34

24 “No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money. 25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? 28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. 34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

What Is the Main Point of this passage?

Main Point: “Do not be anxious.” (Matthew 6:2527283134)
Arguments: There are 9 arguments or reasons in this passage not to be anxious

  1. “You cannot serve both God and money” (Matthew 6:24). We know this is an argument because the next verse begins with the word “Therefore”.
  2. “Is not life more than food?” (Matthew 6:25)
  3. “Look at the birds of the air . . .” (Matthew 6:26)
  4. “Which of you can add a single hour to his life?” (Matthew 6:27)
  5. “Consider the lilies of the field . . .” (Matthew 6:28–30)
  6. “The Gentiles seek after these things.” (Matthew 6:32)
  7. “Your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.” (Matthew 6:32)
  8. “All these things will be added to you.” (Matthew 6:33)
  9. “Tomorrow will be anxious for itself.” (Matthew 6:34)

http://www.desiringgod.org/labs/nine-arguments-against-anxiety

One thought on “Do not worry about tomorrow! (Part 1)

  1. this is interesting because I have always heard that there was a verse that said “be anxious for nothing” but I looked it up at blue letter bible and the word anxious is not in the King James which I use. Here is Matthew 6:34 in the KJV “Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” so not only be not anxious, but do not even think about tomorrow, for tomorrow will take care of itself.. believers need only to trust the Lord for whatever that day brings. But its a hard lesson to learn, from one who used to worry all the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

